add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

realistic overclocking benefits

jase78
  • 60 months ago

Hello all. As a new pc builder I've been very interested in the process of overclocking my 4690k. I've read hundreds of guides and tutorials explaining the basics on doing such things. I guess what I really want to know is, are there a real day to day benefits of doing this. I understand there's a few CPU intensive games that benefit but I'm talking about as a whole are there real gains from overclocking for gaming and daily computing on a system with a mid range gpu such as a 970? If so could you give examples such as , massive fps differences from o.c. to stock? Or is it more of a hobby to overclcock or just for bragging rights Ect.?

Comments

• 60 months ago
  • 3 points

First off the gtx 970 isn't mid range. Second Overclocking will generally not affect general day-to-day computing like web browsing.

• 60 months ago
  • 2 points

Overclocking CPU for multi-threaded workload productvity:
- Real benefits, worthwhile

Overclocking CPU for gaming:
- Bragging rights, not worthwhile

• 60 months ago
  • 1 point

Overclocking can remove bottlenecks in CPU-intensive games, like you said, but it's honestly mostly for bragging rights, and it's dangerous and generally not a good idea unless you know what you're doing, you're willing to take the risk, and you actually need to.

• 60 months ago
  • 1 point