add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Can a Ryzen 5 2600 handle a RTX 2070?

TegridyFarms

2 days ago

I'm a little new to PC gaming, so help me out here!

Comments

• 2 days ago
  • 3 points

The question is based in false pretense.

If you're planning to game on a 144hz+ monitor at high FPS, always "tuning" visuals down as required to keep FPS high, the 2600 is going to be a performance bottleneck in some games regardless of GPU choice.

If you're planning to game on a 60-75hz (or maybe higher refresh rate "syncing" monitor) with lower performance goals (happy with 60-90FPS+), and more focus on visual quality and resolution, then the 2600 will do just fine. Again, GPU selection here doesn't matter. It's not about "handling" a GPU, it's about handling your performance goals. Your monitors refresh rate has a lot more to do with your CPU selection than your GPU.

• 2 days ago
  • 2 points

Depends on what You mean by handle it.

The 2600 will always perform like a 2600 in the specific use, the 2070 performance is going to vary depending on use, resolution, and quality settings.

There are uses where the 2600 will always be the limiting part and it could be looked at as if it cannot handle a GPU of that level with a specific set of goals.

And other uses where the 2070 cannot achieve the performance goals but the 2600 isn't doing much more then idling.

There is not and never will be a fixed Yes or No to this kind of question without information on what You are doing.

• 2 days ago
  • 1 point

If by handle you mean bottleneck, then yes, a Ryzen 5 will bottleneck that CPU.