add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

When AMD Releases The Series 3,000 CPUs - How Fast Will Pricing Drop on Series 2,000 chips?

surge42

18 days ago

So AMD is predicting to release the new CPUs soon right? Based on your experience how fast will the prices drop on the series 2,000 chips?

I'm an advocate of not buying the cutting edge tech. I'm one version behind the latest and greatest.

I'm new to the space and I'd like the opinion of those who pay attention to this kind of thing.

Best wishes.

Comments

• 18 days ago
  • 2 points

Based on your experience how fast will the prices drop on the series 2,000 chips?

Really depends on the performance of the 3000 cpu's. In general price often seems to coalesce around performance. IE if the 2700X performs about as well as the slowest Ryzen 7 3000, then you'd kind of expect the price to settle there. Because everyone and their dog is looking for a deal, like you are, and is hoping to get a previously highend CPU for peanuts because it's got a 2 instead of a 3 in the branding. But everyone involved is wise to what the market cares about, performance and they tend to price things accordingly.

• 18 days ago
  • 1 point

So AMD is predicting to release the new CPUs soon right?

That is no longer clear. At their earnings call they did not mention Ryzen and only listed Navi and EPYC launching in Q3 so Ryzen CPU may be delayed until Q4.

Based on your experience how fast will the prices drop on the series 2,000 chips?

A long time if they follow the Gen 2 launch.