add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Cheap psu makes little noise?

pcbldragain

7 months ago

Couple year ago I scored a enermax naxn 450w for a spare, for 28 bucks on sale. Put in my new build with a 2400g, no gpu. Its in the bottom upside down and the fan makes a little noise. It sounds like loose bearings in the fan. Its pretty minor but there, its running slow like I assume it should with low load. I could take it apart and check fan for mounting/etc, I have some experience with electronics been in those before but doubt I could do anything to fix other than new fan. Or could this be normal?? Could it be a ball bearing fan or something? If room quiet you can hear it otherwise you can't. Just fired it up and all I'm doing is win install and driver/bios updates, format drive, etc. I left it on all night nothing changed. Managed to get memory running at 3600 in bios but done nothing else with it. Naturally on newegg some say it caught on fire and all that.

Comments

• 7 months ago
  • 1 point

That psu unit is 7 years old and has a sleeve bearing fan. I think the fan is starting to worn out, uses an old double forward with a group regulation design (meaning the platform in the psu itself is even older) and the psu has alot of Samxon psu.

You should get a a better psu before that thing goes kaboom on you.

https://pcpartpicker.com/product/FQ648d/corsair-power-supply-cp9020101na

This CX 450m psu is far more modern, better caps, rifle bearing fan, modular and properly set protections.

Power supplies always work fine until they don't.

• 7 months ago
  • 1 point