• Be respectful to others
  • No spam
  • No NSFW content
  • No piracy or key resellers
  • No link shorteners
  • Offensive content will be removed

Topic

berserk333 11 days ago

I'm very new to having an SSD, obviously from the question, and was wondering if the SSD is supposed to be the primary boot drive with Windows 10. I also have a 2TB barracuda, which I picked for my OS, since I thought I could put certain games in the SSD (Doom, Witcher 3 etc.) and have smaller games in the HDD, and everything else. Is that not how it works? I guess what I'm saying is, I don't understand having 2 drives in this way at all. I've used external HDDs, for extra storage, but never for gaming use.

Should I wipe the HDD and put the OS on the SSD? :/

EDIT: Thank you all for your answers, I'll definitely have to do some research. The SSD is 240gbs, so not even sure what I can fit on it yet, but I'll also have to find out how to download things on the HDD lol. Can I have a game file on the HDD and have its shortcut on the SSD??

Comments Sorted by:

xPat 3 Builds 3 points 11 days ago

if the SSD is supposed to be the primary boot drive with Windows 10.

Yes.

I don't think you need to wipe the hdd if you have other data you wanna keep on it but I would prolly unplug it while installing w10 on the ssd, and make sure the bios recognises the ssd as primary.

pcbldragain 2 points 10 days ago

Most people put the OS on the SSD and then if they have room they put current games/programs on it. They use hdd for data like old games they play less, photo/video, backing things up, etc. The SSD will boot much faster and load anything windows (your OS) faster. I put a sata SSD in an old PC with sata 2 (not sata 3) and it is FAR faster than the hdd was. When you boot or start a program it is way faster. And if you hit your swapfile in windows that is faster too.