add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Is a 550W Bronze good enough for a RX 580 and Ryzen 3 2200g ??

B_vndo

8 months ago

So this is my first time building a PC and I’ve done plenty of research but there was one thing I didn’t put too much thinking into and it was the psu. I ended up buying a 450W and found out it’s not the best way to go so I was wondering, is a Corsair 550W Bronze good enough to handle a Ryzen 3 2200g and a RX 580 8gb? Here’s the link to the PSU >>>> https://m.newegg.com/products/N82E16817139202?ignorebbr=1&nm_mc=AFC-C8Junction&cm_mmc=AFC-C8Junction-PCPartPicker%2c+LLC-_-na-_-na-_-na&AID=10446076&PID=3938566

Comments

• 8 months ago
  • 1 point

For a build with a RX 580 and a 2200G processor plus all the remaining components, even a 450 Watt PSU would suffice.

So if you have already purchased a Corsair CX450 PSU unit, just keep it.

Now if you want to replace it with a CX550 unit, no problem whatsoever. :)

• 8 months ago
  • 1 point

Thanks a lot! I just don’t want my first PC build to be a failure. But say that the psu wasn’t able to handle the two what would happen? I’ve heard people say things about it catching fire than there were others who said it just completely stops working and all you have to do is replace it.

• 8 months ago
  • 1 point

If you overload a good PSU, it just shuts off. When you remove the overload it starts working again. I'd expect this kind of good behavior from a Corsair CX/CXM unit.