add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Cheap gpu for office PC

adrianortega94

4 months ago

Im building a pc for my mom with a couple of spare parts. So far i got a case, mobo, ram, psu and a ryzen 5 1400 cpu.

I need a REALLY CHEAP gpu for simple office work, no gaming, maybe youtube.

Any suggestion helps!

Comments

• 4 months ago
  • 1 point

I'm not a pro at this but can give it a bump. Both of these run on pci power alone.

I have a geforce GT730 in my old athlon 64 X2 PC, it would do older games from say 2K and handles youtube fine, a lot of tabs and it gets funny but this PC only has 4gb and 32bit. That one I needed a single slot to fit another pci card, it was supposed to be similar to the huge fans radeon r6670 I took out. A gt710 is little less $. I have a Core2quad sff with a radeon 6450 low profile that plays youtube hd full screen, never gamed on it but it plays FB type games easily while the integrated would not. That one I researched a lot to find ~$50 in low profile. I upgraded that sff to c2q/8gb/the 6450/SSD (only sata2) and it runs win7 quite well now massive difference, it had a pentium dual in it. In these cards the ddr5 is better than ddr3, 1gb minimum is better. Or you can look them up for benchmarks easy enough. You might gamble and ebay a used for one of these, or if you have a PC repair place nearby call them/etc. I bough them new the 6450 just over a year ago iirc <$50.

• 4 months ago
  • 1 point