• Be respectful to others
  • No spam
  • No NSFW content
  • No piracy or key resellers
  • No link shorteners
  • Offensive content will be removed

Topic

Unstoppable305 1 month ago

I'm fairly new to the pc thing and now wanting to build a pc. Just looking for any input that can save a couple dollars or if I'm spot on with either build. I dont stream I only game and also want to get vr soon (i will take opinions on that as well). I have a good budget to spend on the parts. I also already own the psu (evga supernova 1000 g3 gold), the gpu (msi gtx1080ti gaming x trio), and 4k monitor. The rig i am currently on is loaned to me from a friend so that is why I have parts but not the build. Any information is greatly appreciated.

AMD build: https://pcpartpicker.com/list/V6nHmq

Intel build: https://pcpartpicker.com/list/6KHBBb

Comments Sorted by:

kschendel 1 Build 2 points 1 month ago

If you aren't streaming and are gaming focused, I'd put you in an Intel build, but with the 9600K instead to save money (plus having better thermals than the 8700K). More cost effective SSD and 16GB memory instead of 32, as I don't think you need 32GB for gaming. (Not sure about VR as I know little about it.)

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

Type Item Price
CPU Intel - Core i5-9600K 3.7 GHz 6-Core Processor $264.89 @ OutletPC
CPU Cooler Reeven - Ouranos 92.4 CFM CPU Cooler $59.37 @ OutletPC
Motherboard Gigabyte - Z390 AORUS ELITE ATX LGA1151 Motherboard $169.99 @ Amazon
Memory Crucial - Ballistix Sport LT 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR4-3000 Memory $87.19 @ Newegg
Storage HP - EX900 500 GB M.2-2280 Solid State Drive $78.99 @ Newegg
Storage Western Digital - Black 4 TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive $184.89 @ OutletPC
Case NZXT - H500i (White) ATX Mid Tower Case $99.99 @ Amazon
Operating System Microsoft - Windows 10 Home OEM 64-bit $99.39 @ OutletPC
Case Fan Corsair - LL120RGB LED (Three Fans With Lighting Node PRO) 43.25 CFM 120mm Fans $98.36 @ OutletPC