add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Is 450W PSU good enough for my build?

ryanshamuv

5 months ago

I am currently finishing up my first pc build and it was a budget build at first when i bought the power supply. Now i’ve gone slightly more expensive and i have 16gb ram, gtx 1050 (not ti), i5 8600k, and b360m d3h. Im kind of new to pc building and wanted to know if an EVGA 450bt power supply would be enough to support this.

Comments

• 5 months ago
  • 3 points

Actually you PSU selection should be your last step and not the other way around.

The i5-8600K paired with a GTX 1050 doesn't make a lot of sense as gaming performance concerns, and the board selection isn't a fine choice either.

What's your budget for the whole build, and do you need a OS?

Basically, have you purchased the remaining parts of the build as well?

• 5 months ago
  • 1 point

No, I already have Windows 10 on a hard drive. Yeah, this is my first build and i am still trying to understand the whole pc parts pairing, and i also edit videos and figured the 8600k would do me well. Any tips and/or help would be much appreciated.

edit: and i also will be doing some gaming as well. my budget was around 1,000, but im only 16 with a well paying job so ive been picking parts over the past couple months

• 5 months ago
  • 2 points

Hmm, if you edit videos and alike a GTX 1050 isn't a bad choice at least for 1080p.

As the CPU concerns, the i5-8600K is a very capable processor for editing, but you need an aftermarket cooler, because the i5-8600K doesn't include any cooler.