• No spam
  • No NSFW content
  • No piracy or key resellers
  • No link shorteners
  • Offensive content will be removed

Topic

loganloganlo 1 month ago

I'm a game developer, and a 3D artist/painter,

Currently my computer is running off of a 60GB SSD, and two 250GB for HHD's. I usually do a system reformat before these drives get filled, but love the combination of how I've got them set up.

The SSD is used for my OS files, and the two HHD's are formated to be a Primary storage and a Secondary storage. Primary = Games, Drivers, Torrents, etc/ Secondary = UE4, Photoshop, Blender, Projects, etc. I store all my completed projects/clients work, on an external Hard drive.

My next AMD 3000x series I'm building when they come out, I'm trying to figure out how I'd like to go about configuring my new SSD's.

I'm going for the newer faster M2 drives, so not really worried a whole lot about price but trying to keep it below 550$

Anyone have any ideas on how I could go about configuring my storage?

Comments Sorted by:

Levyrat 2 Builds 2 points 1 month ago

I'm leaning toward a single drive system because I like simplicity, but since you're used to a three-drive setup, you can reconstruct it with newer parts. Just get a 250GB or 500GB SSD for the OS and a 1 TB or 2TB SSD partitioned for your primary/secondary setup.

That matches your current configuration, just faster and with more capacity. The details depend on what motherboard you end up choosing. You'll need one with two NVME M2 slots if you want the faster drives.

loganloganlo submitter 1 point 1 month ago

I like this idea, I'm waiting to see the new x570s and I'm really hoping the Asus boards have two M2 slots. Is it possible to Raid 0, two M2 drive partitions? So for example two 500GB drives. Raid 0 250GB on each drive partition, and then the leftover 250GB on both drive A & B just be used regularly for Primary/Secondary?

Levyrat 2 Builds 1 point 1 month ago