add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Adding more RAM

jake2917

10 months ago

If this is a dump question I'm sorry but I'm still pretty new to all of this. If I am currently running: G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3200 (PC4 25600) & I wanted to add more RAM, can I simply purchase the same exact RAM & add it alongside what I have now?

Thanks in advance for the help!

Comments

• 10 months ago
  • 2 points

Yes you can. ;)

• 10 months ago
  • 1 point

Thank you!

• 10 months ago
  • 1 point

:)

• 10 months ago
  • 1 point

If you have enough ram slots, then yes

• 10 months ago
  • 1 point

Sweet thank you & yessir. Got two more slots lookin" to be filled.

• 10 months ago
  • 1 point

Yes, but note you loose a 100% guarantee it will run at rated speeds, however it very likely still will.

• 10 months ago
  • 1 point

Word! I'm not able to even run them at the advertised speed as of right now...lol even after tweaking it in the bios. I believe I have to upgrade my PSU first. I found out my PS is pretty cheap recently & since I got the PC I've added stronger parts. I'm guessing the voltage for the RAM isn't enough right now, but could be wrong. Thanks for the help!

• 10 months ago
  • 1 point

RAM draws just about nothing from PSU, try flashing your BIOS to the latest version and doing a manual overclock.

• 10 months ago
  • 1 point