add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

I am a newbie to the PC building world and I'm in need of assistance...

jaded_david
  • 19 months ago

Hello PC Enthusiasts.

As the title suggests, I would like to build my own PC. I've always had an interest in learning the in's and out's of a personal computer and also I've been eager to create something that will be decent for my hobbies but the problem that I am facing is that there is a ROBUST amount of possibilities the options are simply overwhelming to me. Heck, I barely understand the functions of a SSD, so yes, I need a lot of assistance. I refuse to cop out and going for an Alienware or an Omen. I feel that they are simply overpriced and I feel that I could do a better job with a $700 budget. So once again, I ask you all to help me. Where should I start? What are some good products for Gaming, Editing, and Livestreaming ? All advice is welcomed!

TLDR: I am a noob who wants to build a decent Gaming/Editing PC for $700.

Comments

• 19 months ago
  • 1 point

What games, resolutions, frame rates? That will determine the video card you need which will be a big chunk of your budget.

• 19 months ago
  • 1 point

About the best your going to get in that price range to do everything you listing. If you need windows 10 included in the price then you will have to take a big performance hit.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

Type Item Price
CPU AMD - Ryzen 5 2600 3.4GHz 6-Core Processor $165.99 @ Walmart
Motherboard Asus - PRIME B450M-A/CSM Micro ATX AM4 Motherboard $79.99 @ B&H