add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube
Dtwenty
  • 29 months ago

Hi, I'm still learning about PC building and was criticized on Steam about a build I threw together and was trying to figure something out, I see a lot of you guys on this site post builds and one thing I never see is people freaking out about mobo/cpu's. Basically I posted a build which featured a cheaper z370 (6 power phase I think) w/ an 8600k and had two people calling me out stating that I should never pair a CPU like that with such a cheap board yet I see a lot of this site community pair it all the time, so what the hell is Power Phase and am I wrong to pair an 8600k w/ say, an MSI z370 A PRO or Gaming Plus?

Comments

• 29 months ago
  • 1 point

Well that's not easily to answer.

Different board manufacturers use different components on their boards, different VRMs, and theoretically more phases if done correctly would give a more stable overclock (without V-drops) on high CPU overclock speeds.

The best you can do, is to read some reviews from the boards in question above, so you can get an idea how much you can push that board.

Of course keep in mind, an successful overclock, especially on high region frequencies, depends mostly from the silicon chip in question the CPU cooler to keep the temps down, so you can push it even further and yes a good power delivery system would help too an that matter, but that doesn't mean you can only overclock with some boards and not with some others. ;)

• 29 months ago
  • 1 point

Thanks for that. :)

• 29 months ago
  • 1 point