add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

is 850W enough for my i9-7900x overclocking?

thunderbuck

25 months ago

is 850W enough for my i9-7900x overclocking?

Comments

• 25 months ago
  • 1 point

What else is in the system? Are any of the other components overclocked?

• 25 months ago
  • 1 point

https://ca.pcpartpicker.com/user/thunderbuck/saved/86pNNG

might oc the gpu a little. i'm new to this

• 25 months ago
  • 1 point

https://pcpartpicker.com/list/M92NXH

might overclock the GPU as well.

• 25 months ago
  • 1 point

should be. Would be helpful to know your other specs though

• 25 months ago
  • 1 point

Ur more than fine

• 25 months ago
  • 1 point

whew, thanks!!

• 25 months ago
  • 1 point

GPU?

Electric performance and build quality are important factors to consider.

What exact PSU model?

• 25 months ago
  • 1 point

Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-850FX 850W 80+ Gold ATX12V & EPS12V Full Modular 120mm FDB Fan Compact 140 mm Size Power Supply

• 25 months ago
  • 1 point
  1. Yes, it'll be fine.

2. You probably shouldn't plan on overclocking the 7900x on air unless you are going for just mild overclocks. A good 280mm or 360mm AiO would be a good idea, especially if you delid.

• 25 months ago
  • 1 point

about OC, my understanding was the noctua fan i ordered was as good at cooling as water, and more reliable/durable, albeit not as good looking.

• 25 months ago
  • 1 point

It's definitely a solid cooler and with some good airflow I'd take it over most 240mm AiOs, but it certainly doesn't compete with larger AiOs. Take a look at this review.