add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Should I get a soundcard or not?

Azmatik95

34 months ago

Hello, I was wondering if I should get a soundcard to improve the quality of the music I listen to on my computer through a soundbar and subwoofer. It seems like the sound quality is lower than it should be and idk if it is because of my motherboard or video card(I am really new to building a computer and stuff and I just built my first desktop). This is my motherboard, https://www.amazon.com/ASUS-Z170-A-ATX-DDR4-Motherboards/dp/B012NH05UW/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1487561200&sr=8-1&keywords=asus+z170a. And this is the video card I have, https://www.amazon.com/GeForce-Dual-fan-Gaming-Graphics-DUAL-GTX1070-O8G/dp/B01JHQSZ40/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1487561213&sr=8-2&keywords=asus+1070.

Can someone please tell me if I getting a soundcard will improve my sound quality through my speakers and what a decent soundcard would be to get that won't break the bank.

Budget = 50-100 dollars.

Comments

• 34 months ago
  • 3 points

A sound card rarely makes a difference until you get to the really high end stuff. Even then there is still interference.

• 34 months ago
  • 3 points

also make sure the sound files your listening to are high quality... often people overlook that and just keep throwing money away on sound equipment when the music itself is low quality junk recordings...

• 34 months ago
  • 1 point

Does streaming the audio also affect the quality of the song?

• 34 months ago
  • 2 points