add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

How scared should I be of static?

Impojr

38 months ago

I have never built a computer before, but I have seen warnings about static electricity.

Since my case and everything inside it will be resting on my carpet floor - should I be scared of static? I'm not sure if I should invest in an anti-static wrist band or just go for it.

Have you ever damaged any parts with static electricity?

Comments

• 38 months ago
  • 3 points

Not scared at all. I don't recommend to do stuff in the video below but it just shows that you don't need to be paranoid and that touching the case every now and then will do fine so no need for a wrist band unless you are literally always shocking something.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1la0a8RQ7kI

• 38 months ago
  • 1 point

That was actually the video I watched before I made the post! Cool stuff!

• 38 months ago
  • 1 point

:( that's me. I seems to build up a lot of static and shock crap all the time. I use an anti static strap.

• 38 months ago
  • 2 points

Most static worries are way overblown. Do a search on static in the forums and you'll find tons on the subject.

• 38 months ago
  • 2 points

Unless you go moonwalking on carpet before you start building, generally there shouldn't be a problem. If you're overly concerned, just plug your Psu into the wall socket (don't power on) and touch the outside of psu. It will be grounded via the wall plug and so will you

• 38 months ago
  • 1 point

Doesn't everyone build while dancing to Michael Jackson wearing socks on carpet?

• 38 months ago
  • 3 points