add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

What Antivirus are you guys using?

Daithy

31 months ago

I haven't gamed for at least a decade but was a regular user on a laptop. I had been using Avira for about 2 years like 5 years ago. 'twas okay actually, GUI was very poor. Then I went through others like ESET, but settled with Avast.

I must say that I found Avast very good. Saved my *** many times. I think Avira slipped a few times. Once I got a virus which completely blocked Avira.

However, Avast is pissing me off lately, with the tons of features and pop-ups as of lately. I want my AV light, not a bloody MS Ofiice.

Now I will be gaming with my new rig. I have Win 10 x64. I know Avast has Gaming mode.

What are you guys using?

P.S. Is AV enough. Do I need Malwarebytes? I used to used Spybot, but that's gone to **** as well.

Comments

• 31 months ago
  • 3 points

I use both Malwarebytes and the standard Windows Defender. Definitely not the best antivirus setup, but good enough for someone who already plays it safe with downloads.

• 31 months ago
  • 1 point

Same setup I use, actually. I was using bitdefender until I upgraded to windows 10, but apparently they don't offer windows 10 support on the free version, so I dropped it.

Really the majority of my protection comes browser side with Ublock origin and NoScript on Firefox. TBH I might need to add even more to that at some point but it works for now.

• 31 months ago
  • 1 point